black midi share single/video “Sugar/Tzu”, new album ‘Hellfire’ out Friday July 15th

black midi share single/video “Sugar/Tzu”, new album ‘Hellfire’ out Friday July 15th

Listen to black midi’s futuristic boxing tale “Sugar/Tzu”, together with a surreal music video directed by Noel Paul. It is the final single ahead of the release of ‘Hellfire’, black midi’s third album. Out Friday 15th on Rough Trade Records.

Sugar/Tzu” “imagines that in 2163 it’s possible to see a championship fight between two 600 lb men. Albeit in a so-called ‘Leadweight’ division,” explains Greep. “The fight is between Sun Sugar and Sun Tzu; the latter being a fan of the Chinese general, hoping to channel his strength; and the former looking to continue the lineage of Sugar Ray Robinson, Leonard etc.

Artwork by David Rudnick

Pre-order ‘Hellfire’

black midi tour dates

Wed. July 13 – London, UK @ Summer Series at Somerset House
Fri. July 15 – Riga, LV @ Positivus Festival
Sun. July 17 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival
Thu. July 21 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club #
Sat. July 23 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes #
Sun. July 24 – New York, NY @ Central Park SummerStage %
Fri. July 29 – Puglia, IT @ Sud Est Indipendente
Sun. July 31 – Sesto al Reghena, IT @ Sexto’Nplugged
Mon. Aug. 1 – Sestri Levante, IT @ Mojotic Festival
Fri. Aug. 12 – Rees Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop
Mon. Aug. 15 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser
Wed. Aug. 17 – Essen, DE @ Ruhrtriennale
Sun. Aug. 21 – Winterthur, CH @ Winterthurer Musikfestwochen
Fri. Aug. 26 – La Tour de Peilz, CH @ Nox Orae
Thu. Sep. 1 – Sun. Sep. 4 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Sat. Sep. 3 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest
Tue. Sep. 6 – Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head Live *
Wed. Sep. 7 – Richmond, VA @ The National *
Fri. Sep. 9 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel *
Sat. Sep. 10 – Athens, GA @ Georgia Theatre *
Mon. Sep. 12 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn *
Wed. Sep. 14 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall *
Fri. Sep. 16 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk *
Sat. Sep. 17 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk *
Tue. Sep. 20 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress Plaza *
Thu. Sep. 22 – Pomona, CA @ The Glass House *
Fri. Sep. 23 – San Diego, CA @ Music Box *
Sat. Sep. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern Theatre *
Tue. Sep. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield Theatre *
Wed. Sep. 28 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *
Thu. Sep. 29 – Reno, NV @ Cargo Concert Hall *
Mon. Oct. 3 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre @
Tue. Oct. 4 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre @
Fri. Oct. 7 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada @
Sat. Oct. 8 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown @
Sun. Oct. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue @
Wed. Oct. 12 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall @
Fri. Oct. 14 – Columbus, OH @ The Athenaeum Theatre @
Sat. Oct. 15 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall @
Mon. Oct 17 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Spirit Hall ^
Tue. Oct. 18 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Fri. Oct. 28 – Liverpool, UK @ Invisible Wind Factory
Mon. Oct. 30 – Cardiff, WS @ Llais @ Wales Millenium Centre
Sat. Oct. 29 – Newcastle, UK @ NX
Tue. Nov. 1 – Antwerp, BE @ Trix
Wed. Nov. 2 – Paris, FR @ Bataclan
Thu. Nov. 3 – Lyon, FR @ Marché Gare
Sat. Nov. 5 – Berlin, DE @ Pitchfork Festival
Mon. Nov. 7 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Wed. Nov. 9 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli

Thu. Nov. 10 – Rotterdam, NL @ Maasssilo
Mon. Nov. 14 – Glasgow, UK @ Old Fruitmarket
Wed. Nov. 16 – Bristol, UK @ SWX
Sat. Nov. 19 – Mexico City, MX @ Corona Capital Music Festival
Sun. Dec. 4 – Tokyo, JP @ O-East
Mon. Dec. 5 – Osaka, JP @ Club Quattro
Tue. Dec 6 – Nagoya, JP @ The Bottom Line

# = with keyaA
% = with Sal Valentinetti, Sarah Squirm
* = with Black Country, New Road
@ = with Quelle Chris
^ = with Horsegirl

Hellfire

Featured Release

black midi

Hellfire

15 July 2022
LP, CD, Cassette, Digital

Buy / Stream This release is not available from Rough Trade in your country