The Long Blondes to celebrate ‘Someone To Drive You Home’s 15th anniversary with new edition

The Long Blondes to celebrate ‘Someone To Drive You Home’s 15th anniversary with new edition

Rough Trade Records are giddy – well, obviously! – to announce the release of the 15th anniversary edition of The Long Blondes debut album, the acclaimed ‘Someone To Drive You Home’, on December 10, 2021.


Initial pre-orders via the Rough Trade Records webstore will come with a signed postcard of the album artwork (above), limited edition stickers of the single artwork (see below), and the chance to win one of five prints of frontwoman Kate Jackson’s single artwork signed by Jackson and bandmate Dorian Cox.

The home of a host of indie disco classics with its noir atmospheres and vivid storytelling – qualities that saw the record inspire recent, generation-capturing movie Giddy Stratospheres which takes its name from The Long Blondes’ iconic single – the Sheffield band’s first album managed that rare trick of capturing the 2000s zeitgeist while leaving a timeless artistic mark for the ages.

Featuring of the aforementioned ‘Giddy Stratospheres’, ahead of the new deluxe edition’s release a remastered version of song, along with the track ‘Never To Be Repeated’,’ are being released as a new digital single boasting – as mentioned – brand new artwork painted by Kate Jackson. They are available now via all good streaming services.

(‘Giddy Stratospheres’ Single Artwork)


Initially inspired by the frisson of the indie disco – now, fittingly, a classic of low lit dancefloors everywhere – ‘Giddy Stratospheres’ is The Long Blonde’s sophisticated calling card. A swirl of razor sharp guitars and vivid storytelling, waltzing melodies and burning vocals, the Sheffield band’s 2000s single fizzes with dancing, desire and the most stylish sing-a-long you’ll ever hear.

The song’s video has been restored and released in glorious HD for the first time, along with the short films made for singles  ‘Once & Never Again’ and Weekend Without Make Up’ and all of which are streaming now on Rough Trade Records YouTube channel.

Meanwhile, the anniversary edition of ‘Someone To Drive You Home’, which was originally released in November 2006 and was produced by Pulp member Steve Mackey, will come as a limited edition, double gatefold LP. Pressed on to red and yellow vinyl to mirror the album’s artwork – a picture of actress Faye Dunaway also painted by Jackson – the edition will feature the original record, plus 11 additional tracks that the band used on B-sides. The full tracklist is below.

“Just like you’ll never forget your first crush, you’ll never forget the first time The Long Blondes drove you home… We took you to Giddy Stratospheres once, let us do it again…”

 Dorian Cox, The Long Blondes


LP – Record 1

  1. Lust In The Movies – Remastered
  2. Once And Never Again – Remastered
  3. Only Lovers left Alive – Remastered
  4. Giddy Stratospheres – Remastered
  5. In The Company Of Woman – Remastered
  6. Heaven Help The New Girl – Remastered
  1. Separated By Motorways – Remastered
  2. You Could Have Both – Remastered
  3. Swallow Tattoo – Remastered
  4. Weekend Without Makeup – Remastered
  5. Madame Ray – Remastered
  6. A Knife For The Girls – Remastered


LP – Record 2

  1. Five Ways To End It – Single B-Side
  2. Fulwood Babylon – Single B-Side
  3. The Whippet Fancier – Single B-Side
  4. Who are You To Her? – Single B-Side
  5. Never To Be Repeated – Single B-Side
  6. All Bar One Girls – Single B-Side
  7. I’m Coping – Single B-Side
  8. Last Night On Northgate St – Single B-Side
  9. Platitudes – Single B-Side
  10. Melville Farr – Single B-Side

11: The Unbearable Lightness of Buildings – Single B-Side


“Put simply, this is fantasy pop, performed to perfection.” NME 9/10

“It’s the songs, their narratives, and their characters that speak to the band’s widescreen ambitions.” PITCHFORK 8.2 

It’s impossible not to warm to its visceral, lusty company.” THE OBSERVER 4/5

The Long Blondes sound pleasingly frayed around the edges.” MOJO 4/5

An unexpected delight.” THE GUARDIAN 4/5

The Long Blondes: Kate Jackson: vocals, Dorian Cox: guitars, keyboards, vocals / Emma Chaplin: guitars, keyboards, vocals / Reenie Hollis: bass guitar, vocals / Screech Louder: drums

More About The Long Blondes:

The Long Blondes artist page