Lankum Announce New Album ‘False Lankum’ Out March 24th, New Single ‘Go Dig My Grave’ Out Now

Lankum Announce New Album ‘False Lankum’ Out March 24th, New Single ‘Go Dig My Grave’ Out Now

Lankum are set to release their forth album ‘False Lankum’ on March 24th. The announcement comes with the release of the first single ‘Go Dig My Grave’ today with a video by Peadar Gill and Vicky Langan.

Drawing on traditional folk songs, Lankum put their own dark, distinctive mark onto each, leaning into heavy drones and sonic distortion that imparts new intensity and beauty into each track. This record sees the band cement their breakout from the folk genre, creating bold, contemporary music that may be fashioned from traditional elements but is firmly new.

False Lankum will be available on burnt orange transparent double vinyl, black double LP, CD and digitally. Order from the Rough Trade Webstore to receive a signed print by Steve Gullick and to access a ticket pre-sale for the band’s forthcoming show at The Roundhouse. Pre-sale for their Dublin Vicar St shows is via Tower Records

Dublin’s Lankum planned for False Lankum to feel like a complete piece – a progression and a journey for the listener. “We wanted to create more contrast on the record so the light parts would be almost spiritual and the dark parts would be incredibly dark, even horror inducing,” they explain. The album’s 12 tracks, composed of 10 traditional songs and two originals, show the four-piece using a new palate to colour their sound in an increasingly experimental way, alongside longtime producer John ‘Spud’ Murphy.

 “Our interpretation of the traditional song Go Dig My Grave is one that centres around the emotion of grief – all-consuming, unbearable and absolute” explain Lankum, “A visceral physical reaction to something that the body and mind are almost incapable of processing. The second part of the song is inspired by the Irish tradition of keening (from the Irish caoineadh) – a traditional form of lament for the deceased. Regarded by some as opening up ‘perilous channels of communication with the dead’, the practice came under severe censure from the catholic church in Ireland from the 17th century on.”

Pre-orderFalse Lankum

False Lankum Tracklist:

01) Go Dig My Grave

02) Clear Away In the Morning

03) Fugue I

04) Master Crowley’s 

05) Newcastle

06) Fugue II

07) Netta Perseus

08) The New York Trader

09) Lord Abore and Mary Flynn

10) Fugue III

11) On a Monday Morning

12) The Turn

Forthcoming Tour Dates

Pre-order from our webstore for Roundhouse pre-sale + signed limited prints. The UK pre-sale starts Wednesday February 1st at 11am GMT. Pre-order from Tower Records now for the Vicar St Pre-sale.