black midi Share “Eat Men Eat” Ahead of Hellfire Album Release & Announce UK / EU Tour This Autumn

black midi Share “Eat Men Eat” Ahead of Hellfire Album Release & Announce UK / EU Tour This Autumn

Watch the video for black midi’s “Eat Men Eat”, from their forthcoming album, Hellfire, out July 15th on Rough Trade (pre-order).

Musically, “Eat Men Eat” is a fusion of Rock and Flamenco, the latter being the working title found on early setlists. The lyrics, written by Picton, tell the story of a couple’s quest to overcome a militaristic Mine Captain cursed with an acid tongue as well as their own uncomfortable internal grumblings.

The recording also features more than 50 fan submitted recordings layered into the end of the piece as well as palmas and various other percussive elements provided by Demi García Sabat. Its accompanying video was directed by Maxim Kelly.

Listen here.

Pre-save Hellfire here.

New UK and EU tour dates are added, see the complete schedule below. Tickets for all shows except just announced UK and EU dates are on sale now.

A UK pre-sale will launch on Tuesday, June 21st with general sale for UK and EU shows on June 23rd. Pre-order Hellfire on any physical format from the black midi webstore or the Rough Trade Webstore before Monday 20th June at 6pm BST to receive pre-sale access. Anyone who has already ordered will automatically be included.

black midi Tour Dates

Sun. Jun. 19 – Vilnius, LT @ 8 Festival

Sat.  Jun. 25 – Somerset, UK @ Glastonbury Festival

Thu. Jun. 30 – Budapest, HU @ Kolorado Festival

Fri. Jul. 1 – Bucharest, RO @ Club Control

 Sun. Jul. 3 – Plovdiv, BG @ Wrong Fest

Sat. Jul. 9 – Trencin, SK @ Pohoda

Wed. Jul. 13 – London, UK @ Summer Series at Somerset House

Fri. Jul. 15 –  Riga, LV @ Positivus Festival

Sun. Jul. 17 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival

Thu. Jul. 21 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club

Sat. Jul. 23 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes

Sun. Jul. 24 – New York, NY @ Central Park SummerStage

Fri. Jul. 29 – Puglia, IT @ Sud Est Indipendente

Sun. Jul. 31 – Sesto al Reghena, IT @ Sexto’Nplugged

Mon. Aug. 1 –  Sestri Levante, IT @ Mojotic Festival

Fri. Aug. 12 –  Rees Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop

Mon. Aug. 15 –  Stockholm, SE @ Debaser

Wed. Aug. 17 –  Essen, DE @ Ruhrtriennale

Sun. Aug. 21 – Winterthur, CH @ Winterthurer Musikfestwochen

Fri. Aug. 26 – La Tour de Peilz, CH @ Nox Orae

Thu. Sep. 1 – Sun. Sep. 4 – Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival

Sat. Sep. 3 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest

Tue. Sep. 6 – Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head Live

Wed. Sep. 7 – Richmond, VA @ The National

Fri. Sep. 9 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel

Sat. Sep. 10 – Athens, GA @ Georgia Theatre

Mon. Sep. 12 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn

Wed. Sep. 14 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall

Fri. Sep. 16 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk

Tue. Sep. 20 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress Plaza

Thu. Sep. 22 – Pomona, CA @ The Glass House

Fri. Sep. 23 – San Diego, CA @ Music Box

Sat. Sep. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern Theatre

Tue. Sep. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield Theatre

Wed. Sep. 28 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s

Thu. Sep. 29 – Reno, NV @ Cargo Concert Hall

Mon. Oct. 3 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre

Tue. Oct. 4 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre

Fri. Oct. 7 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada

Sat. Oct. 8 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown

Sun. Oct. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Wed. Oct. 12 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall

Fri. Oct. 14 – Columbus, OH @ The Athenaeum Theatre

Sat. Oct. 15 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall

Fri. Oct. 28 – Liverpool, UK @ Invisible Wind Factory

Sat. Oct. 29 – Newcastle, UK @ NX

Tue. Nov. 1 – Antwerp, BE @ Trix

Wed. Nov. 2 – Paris, FR @ Bataclan

Thu. Nov. 3 – Lyon, FR @ Marché Gare

Mon. Nov. 7 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega

Wed. Nov. 9 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli 

Thu. Nov. 10 – Rotterdam, NL @ Maasssilo

Mon. Nov. 14 – Glasgow, UK @ Old Fruitmarket

Wed. Nov. 16 – Bristol, UK @ SWX

Sat. Nov. 19 – Mexico City, MX @ Corona Capital Music Festival

Sun. Dec. 4 – Tokyo, JP @ O-East

Mon. Dec. 5 – Osaka, JP @ Club Quattro

Tue. Dec 6 – Nagoya, JP @ The Bottom Line

Pre-order here to access ticket pre-sale

Hellfire

Featured Release

black midi

Hellfire

15 July 2022
LP, CD, Cassette, Digital

Buy / Stream This release is not available from Rough Trade in your country